A Letter to Self as I Begin my Web Development Journey

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

Choosing a Sacrifice

I have recently begun learning web development after several false starts in the past. Honestly, I do not fancy becoming a Peter Pan Syndrome statistic, and therefore procrastination has to let focus have its way. It is a relief, at last, that I can now fulfill my voracious coding appetite.

A Marathon it Is

Focus and consistency are undoubtedly the fundamental tenets, while motivation is the driver. Otherwise, I risk faltering once more to great self-disdain. In my view, this learning endeavor is akin to running a marathon rather than a short dash. On the one hand, a marathon calls for a constant pace with measured energy, while on the other hand, a sprint is short-lived and requires a sudden energy burst. Losing concentration for a split second in a sprint could easily cost one the race, unlike a marathon that features hordes and hordes of encouraging spectators allowing catchups, thus more forgiving.

The Potency of One Percent Daily

Concentration lapses equate to the apathy that might confront me as concepts and problems become more challenging. Along the way, I will pace my coding run with atomic milestones – as James Clear would put it - to develop and sustain the momentum. Setting atomic goals means biting what I can chew along the way, thus averting potentially choking tepidness. > After reading James Clear's Atomic Habits, I must admit that the continuous improvement strategy is genius. While I have often despised small daily advancements, James Clear argues that sustaining just one percent daily betterment compounds to thirty-seven (37) times improvement after a year. A momentary pause as I let this sink in. It is a mind-blowing revelation to mull, and it certainly applies to all life spheres. I cannot doubt the power of consistency, having read about how a developer, Csaba Kissi, made over 3 million dollars in an incredible feat of resiliency and wit. Having this in mind, I will always have a checklist and consider the daily checkmarks as cheering spectators to strengthen my grit in the grind.

My Aim and Development Resources

I aspire to be a full-stack developer whose arsenal comprises JavaScript, Ruby on Rails, React, SQL, Redux, and JSON. In that regard, I have curated a list of essential ingredients from various websites that could guide and hearten my novice self ace the journey. The curation is a skeleton with six limbs, including learning resources and challenges, projects, tools and cheat sheets, inspiration nuggets, remote jobs, and personal branding, and is shown below. Given the table is an image, you can access the specific links to the resources here. Letter to Self.png

Conclusion

I guess this ad hoc learning itinerary is pretty comprehensive, but you are free to post more suggestions in the comment section to provide greater community insight. Thank you so much for reading and I hope it helps.